Lumbosacral Plexus

The lumbosacral plexus is formed by the anterior rami of spinal nerves T12 through S4 (Figure III-5-1). The innervation of the lower limb arises from segments L2 through S3. The major nerves of the lower limb are die:

• Femoral nerve—posterior divisions of L2 through L4

• Obturator nerve—anterior divisions of L2 through L4

■ Tibial nerve—anterior divisions of L4 through S3

■ Common peroneal nerve—posterior divisions of L4 through S2

The tibial nerve and common peroneal nerve travel together through the gluteal region and thigh in a common connective tissue sheath and together are called the sciatic nerve.

The common peroneal nerve divides in the proximal leg into the superficial and deep peroneal nerves.

Sciatic nerve —

Tibial ne

Inti . giu

Commc perone;

Sciatic nerve —

Tibial ne

Figure lil-5-1. Lumbosacral Plexus

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Prevention and Treatment of Headaches

The Prevention and Treatment of Headaches

Are Constant Headaches Making Your Life Stressful? Discover Proven Methods For Eliminating Even The Most Powerful Of Headaches, It’s Easier Than You Think… Stop Chronic Migraine Pain and Tension Headaches From Destroying Your Life… Proven steps anyone can take to overcome even the worst chronic head pain…

Get My Free Audio Book

Post a comment